AUB 2006 Honorary Doctorate Recipient Receives Nobel Peace Prize  
Unexpected War Aftermath: More than 1500 Students Join AUB and Undergo Orientations  
AUB President Waterbury Offers Message of Pride and Hope during Opening Ceremony  
AUB Announces Five Senior-level Appointments  
Soha Hmaidan Replaces Sadik Al-Ass'ad as Associate Director of Development  
40 Years of Service and Charity Inspire the George Tomey HIP Retirees Fund  
Two Days of Intense New Faculty Orientation  
Delegation From The American Arab Chamber of Commerce Visits  
New Faculty 2006-07  
AUB Planner 2006-07 Now on Sale  
Merit Scholars Announced at Marquand House  
AUB Raises $1 Million Toward Relief and Reconstruction; Sets Future Strategies  
AUB Hosts Workshop to Launch UNEP Post-war Environmental Assessment  
War Delays Construction on Campus  
Rami Khouri Appointed as Director of Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy  
Kamal Feghali Certified As Facilities Manager of the Year at IIR Conference  
Institute of Financial Economics Recipient of IDRC Research Grant  
Civil Summer Camp 2006 at Mishmish, Akkar  
AUB Associate Professor of Nutrition Wins Arab Prize for Research  
Faculty Profiles: John Pedro Schwartz and Michael Dennison of the Department of English  
Faculty Profiles  
Senate Meetings, January through June 2006  
Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy Initiates Provocative Discussion on UN and Rule of Law  
Engineering Co-organizes International Workshop at AUB and Munich University of Technology  
Tania Mehanna Talks about Wartime Experience  
CASAR Screens World Acclaimed Zizek!  
Ahdaf Seouf Lectures on Being an Arab in the Literature of the New Empire  
May Farhat Talks about Visual Culture in the Islamic World  
Khadijah El-Alaoui Lectures on Relationships Between Power, Knowledge, and Culture  
Anis Makdisi Program Holds Literary Translation Workshop  
Tarhana Mixes Traditional Tunes with Modern Rhythms  
October 2006 Vol. 8 No. 1

Merit Scholars Announced at Marquand House

Group picture of merit scholars and President Waterbury in the back row

The names of this year's ten merit scholars were announced during the annual new student reception at Marquand House on September 20. President John Waterbury and Mrs. Waterbury hosted the event, which was attended by deans of faculties and around 700 students.

"Six weeks ago we were not sure if we would be welcoming new students," said President Waterbury at the beginning of the reception. "We are very delighted to have you with us…You are the blood and life of this University and without you we cannot function," said the president.

In announcing the appointment of the new dean, Professor Nahla Hwalla, the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, the president said, "AUB makes sure that women take positions of leadership at the University."
The president then named this year's merit scholars six sophomores and four freshmen.

The Merit Scholarship Program was first started in 1999 following the recommendation of President Waterbury to the Board of Trustees to exempt from payment of tuition ten students each year for outstanding academic achievement until they graduate.

The awardees for 2006-07 are Nadine Marie Moacadieh from the Christian Teaching Institute, Laith Al Shawaf from the American Community School, Anis Younes from Saint Joseph, Cornet Shehwan, Tala Nsouli from International College, Ras Beirut, Pascale Khairallah from Jesus and Marie School, Hamza Harkous from Al Mostapha School in Sour, Joseph Cherabieh from Brummana High School, Farah Jacinthe Machlab from International College, Ras Beirut, Bassema Alyssa Karaki from City International School, Beirut, and Tawfiq Dahdah from International School of Chouiefat.